French for Travelers

You can learn to speak and understand a number of basic words and phrases in French by using the Foreign Languages for Travelers pages. This knowledge can be extremely useful when traveling in any of the countries listed below. Or you can use these pages to brush up on or start learning any of a number of foreign languages.

French is officially spoken in:
France, Belgium, Switzerland, Canada, Haiti, Monaco, Andorra, Benin, Burkina_Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, French Polynesia, Gabon, Guadeloupe, Guinea, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Martinique, Mauritania, Mayotte, New Caledonia, Niger, Puerto Rico, Reunion, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Togo, United Kingdom (Channel Islands), Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna, and Zaire. It's commonly spoken in Mauritius Island.